Jessenius Faculty of Medicine
in Martin
Comenius University Bratislava



Teaching of Histology and Embryology at the Faculty of Medicine in Martin started in academic year 1966/67. The Department was founded as a detached department of the Department of Histology and Embryology of the Faculty of Medicine, Comenius University in Bratislava. The academic MUDr. Ivan Stanek was commissioned to be a head of Department. In this period, the lectures were completely provided by teachers from Bratislava and in practical lessons they were assisted by part-time students of the fifth year of the Faculty of Martin.

In January 1967, doc. MD. Eliseo Richard Meitner, CSc., was in charge of leadership. In the academic year 1969/70 a separate Department of Histology and Embryology was established. The head of the department was doc. MD. E.R. Meitner, CSc. In this academic year, the Department was materially and technically equipped, staffed and the entire activity of the Department was provided by its own staff. In the pedagogical process, MUDr. Eva Proksova, MUDr. Margita Baranová and RNDr. Ľudmila Bošelová were enrolled and entire and profound scientific work also began. The seventies were a period of fundamental personnel changes. In 1972 , RNDr. Sylvia Magdolénová joined the pedagogical staff and worked here until 1977. Meanwhile, in 1976, MUDr. Prokšová and MUDr. Baranova were substituted by MUDr. Yvetta Moravčíková and MUDr. Eva Ochodnická. In 1977, MUDr. Elena Fuseková started to work at the Department. Since the 1975/76 academic year, the Department of Anatomy, Histology and Embryology has been set up under the reorganization, headed by doc. MUDr. Juraj Minar, CSc. The Department of Histology and Embryology within this department was headed by doc. MUDr. E.R. Meitner, CSc. After his departure, doc. MUDr. Jozef Zlatoš, CSc., Employee of the Department of Anatomy, Faculty of Medicine, Comenius University in Bratislava, was commissioned to guide the lectures and exams. The department was entrusted to RNDr. Ľ. Bošelová. In the summer term of 1981, doc. MD. Kamil Belej, CSc. became the head of the Department of Histology and Embryology The existence of the associated departments lasted until September 1990. This year, an independent Department of Histology and Embryology was established, that continued to work under the guidance of doc. MD. K. Belej, CSc. In June 2006, doc. MD. Marian Adamkov, CSc. Joined the Departent and since October 1, 2007, he took over its management. In January 2008, MVDr. Soňa Bálentová, PhD. became a scientific researcher on Department of Histology and Embryology.

At the Department of Histology and Embryology, the following were gradually involved in pedagogical and scientific research: MUDr. A. Pišutová (1968 - 1969), MUDr. E. Strelková (1968 - 1976), MUDr. M. Baranová (1969 - 1976), doc. MD. Kamil Belej, CSc. (1981 - 2011), RNDr. Ľ. Bošelová, CSc. (1969-2017), RNDr. S. Magdolenová (1972-1977), MUDr. Y. Moravčíková-Mellová (1976 - 1983), MUDr. E. Ochodnická, CSc. (1976 - 2021), MUDr. E. Fuseková, CSc. (1977 - 2019) MUDr. V. Bartoš (2007), RNDr. E. Ježková, PhD. (2016 - 2022), MVDr. S. Bálentová, PhD. (2008 - to date), RNDr. M. Kovalská, PhD. (2012 - to date), RNDr. V. Mešťanová, PhD. (2018 - to date), Ing. V. Cígerová (2019 - to date), RNDr. Lenka Lacková, PhD. (2023 - to date), prof. RNDr. Peter Kubatka, PhD. (2023 - to date). The technical and other staff of the Department were also actively involved in the pedagogical process and in the scientific and research activities: M. Mičincová - Siráňová, E. Lauková, H. , G. Kondeková, J. Šupolová, M. Letrichová, A. Rešetárová, S. Drahošová, I. Brčíková, Ing. A. Hulejová, J. Višňovcová.

At present, the staff of Department of Histology and Embryology of the Jessenius Faculty of Medicine in Martin, Comenius University in Bratislava includes: prof. MUDr. M. Adamkov, DrSc. - Head of the Department, doc. MVDr. S. Bálentová, PhD.; RNDr. M. Kovalská, PhD.; RNDr. V. Mešťanová, PhD.; Ing. V. Cígerová, PhD.; RNDr. Lenka Lacková, PhD.; prof. RNDr. Peter Kubatka, PhD.; G. Kondeková; A. Rešetárová, J. Višňovcová and S. Timková.